Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer

Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer (http://www.five12.net/index.php)
-   Odds n Ends (http://www.five12.net/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   What monitors do you use? (http://www.five12.net/showthread.php?t=2393)

TwoToneshuzz 01-14-2013 06:06 AM

What monitors do you use?

I've been using headphones for the last three years and it's time for a change. So I'm going shopping for monitors and expect to buy in May.

I'm interested in the ADAM A77x threeway near/midfield monitors.

Pricewise it lies comfortably at the bottom of my range. I would go up to 2x that price if there was some really convincing reasons for it. But after listening to them in the shop I feel that they easily fit the bill.

An additional benefit of getting these monitors is that they are also good for midfield use, which would be a boon in any demostration or teaching situation, or for a small groups of listeners. Read house concerts/cafe. Also the bass frequency goes down to 35 hz, so I would not need to get a sub, saves money and space..

So that's my thinking. Anyone else want to share their thoughts as to how to solve monitoring situation/needs?

nil 01-14-2013 06:57 AM

I'm about to upgrade my monitors too : mine are old, unreliable, cheap... but I know how they sound so I get good sounding mixes and production.

So I'm considering 2 options :

- PSI Audio A17M : from what I've read (unfortunately I haven't heard them yet), they're exactly what I'm looking for : accurate, brutally honest and translate fantastically. They're expensive but it would be a wise buy for me nevertheless.