Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Third Party > Hardware Synths & Effects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2016, 09:53 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Default Recording the OB-6 into Numerology

Hi guys,

I am new here and just bought and installed N4.1 after toying with it for half a day.. By background I tend to compose in Midi - can't believe I had never played with N4 before!

I have a basic question as I'm trying to get my head around how to record the audio coming from my OB-6 (or any hardware synth for that matter) which is being triggered by midi through a Chord sequencer.

I have set up the midi channel out port to the OB-6 (I use an iConnectMidi4+ as a hub) and I can get it to trigger and hear the audio coming out of my Apollo UAD. However, looking at the mixer page, I only see audio coming in from other stacks which have VST's loaded (Trillian & OmniSph).

Apologies if this is a dumb question, its just that I'm coming from Ableton where the workflow is quite different!

What an epic piece of software...
Thank you in advance!

Niko
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2016, 09:56 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Default

I should also add that as a result of not seeing it as audio, I cannot use any fx..
Adding modules to stacks containing VSTs work no problem..

Thank you!
N
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:20 AM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikarga View Post
Hi guys,

I am new here and just bought and installed N4.1 after toying with it for half a day.. By background I tend to compose in Midi - can't believe I had never played with N4 before!

I have a basic question as I'm trying to get my head around how to record the audio coming from my OB-6 (or any hardware synth for that matter) which is being triggered by midi through a Chord sequencer.

I have set up the midi channel out port to the OB-6 (I use an iConnectMidi4+ as a hub) and I can get it to trigger and hear the audio coming out of my Apollo UAD. However, looking at the mixer page, I only see audio coming in from other stacks which have VST's loaded (Trillian & OmniSph).

Apologies if this is a dumb question, its just that I'm coming from Ableton where the workflow is quite different!

What an epic piece of software...
Thank you in advance!

Niko
Hi Niko,
In each stacks, there is an audio in selector !
You should be able to select your OB-6 there choosing the correct Apollo input there ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:24 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramis View Post
Hi Niko,
In each stacks, there is an audio in selector !
You should be able to select your OB-6 there choosing the correct Apollo input there ?
Ok so I clicked on the Routing tab and noticed there was no audio cable running from the Clock In to the Clock Out. I guess a little silly on my part - now i see the levels coming through on the Mixer page.

Can I record this as Audio ?????

and thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:30 AM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikarga View Post
Ok so I clicked on the Routing tab and noticed there was no audio cable running from the Clock In to the Clock Out. I guess a little silly on my part - now i see the levels coming through on the Mixer page.

Can I record this as Audio ?????

and thank you!
In the mixer for this stack, you see 2 icons , one is a midi picture and the other is the speaker picture .
Bring your cursor there and you will see an explanation .
So, if you click on the speaker, this will record the incoming audio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:32 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Super! Thank you for the help... this prog is just awesome...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:40 AM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikarga View Post
Super! Thank you for the help... this prog is just awesome...
Have Fun !!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2016, 11:15 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramis View Post
Have Fun !!!!!!!
Indeed -- And thanks Aramis for the assist! Only other tidbit: In N4's Preferences, in the Audio tab, you can set the file format and bit depth -- the sample rate for audio files matches that for the audio interface Numerology uses.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2016, 02:20 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Jim!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.