Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-30-2018, 01:16 AM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 645
Default

you wrote: StepSequencer has no randomization option

have a look here:
Attached Images
File Type: png ModSeq.png (22.5 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2018, 04:44 AM
f33d f33d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default

do you mean random direction?
it is not really of use for me, as I still got to program new sequences all the time to have real, fresh, fast randomization.
I don't mean to nitpick - it is really a big difference for me.
it would be great to have a simple, midi-cc-able "randomize" button for the CV Sequencer.

not sure if I should post about my sampler-problems in a separate thread.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-30-2018, 08:05 AM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 645
Default

Hello,
What you can do with the MonoNote you can also do with the CV Seqs.
One ButtonBox, 16 Modulation Seqs and one Intervall Seq and go.
Every push of the button a new sequence on the fly!
But be careful every reset of the transport sets everything to zero and the sequence is gone. So the best is to save the Interval Seq each time you like something by dragging the document icon to the desktop.
To make it work do not forget to start Numerology!
best
jue
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-30-2018, 12:11 PM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 645
Default

Hello,

here is an example, a Discrete Sequencer Randomized but only the Interval Seq.
The transport has to be started that the RND works and the button has to be pressed twice after start.
But be careful every reset of the transport sets everything to zero and the sequence is gone. So the best is to save the Interval Seq each time you like something by dragging the document icon to the desktop.

best
jue
Attached Files
File Type: zip Discrete Sequencer Randomized.nmp.zip (17.3 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-30-2018, 02:08 PM
f33d f33d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default

ah wow, ha! thanks jue! it works! but wouldn't it be more CPU efficient to use MonoNote then, which has built in randomization? still I learned stuff with your example! thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-30-2018, 02:28 PM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 645
Default

Hello,
the big thing here is that you can have the complete random as the example shows on one side and the other is that you are able to select specific notes for each step, means that you could limit the random or give a higher possibility to play notes that are repeated at the modulation seqs. think of 3 times C, 4 times A 1 time D and so on. At the end you could have 16 differend sequences that feed one sequence.
Now think of not triggering the sequences by the RND button, keep them running free at different speeds, time signatures and so on, still feeding one 16 step sequencer.
The Numerology universe calls you!
best
jue
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-30-2018, 02:35 PM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 645
Default

And we are not limited by 16 steps, each of the used sequencers could have 128 steps.....

128 ModulationSeqs are feeding one 128 step IntervallSeq.

Again the Numerology universe calls you!

Crazy I know, but this is why I love this programm!

Thanks again Jim!

best
jue
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-31-2018, 04:55 AM
f33d f33d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default

so we'd have a custom quantizer per step of a sequencer + a custom probability of notes in every quantizer, I seeeeee...
yes, I know of no other sequencer that does this, but I also don't know how to use this functionality in my music (yet) ;-)
I think I'll start another thread with my problems with the sampler.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-01-2018, 04:53 AM
f33d f33d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default

I don't get the DrumSeq: It is built like a Chord-Sequencer - all 8 or 16 notes play at the same time, while for a Drum-Sequence it is more important that the different drum hits play not at the same time, but in an interaction. That would be possible if every Drum-Track in the DrumSeq had its own probability, but it does not. So for me it seems MonoNote is more of a DrumSeq than DrumSeq, because there different notes play in alternating order....

Sb. any thoughts on this, probably jue? Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.