Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2018, 07:04 AM
PLaine PLaine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 86
Default Audio Preferences

Hi,

I am mostly using N4 as a MIDI sequencer but with our live band I run some audio loops with it too. I do not use external soundcard but take it out from my Mac Books built-in headphone output.

Couple of times I've noticed a strange out-of-sync issues with N4 audio, but now I think I know what is causing it. Before that I have played my Pianoteq 6 standalone and with that soft synth I like to use higher sample rate (48000 hz or even higher) and very small audio buffer size. After "piano session" like that if I close Pianoteq and launch Numerology these audio settings tend to stay and cause trouble described above.

Now when I know what's the problem, there's a fix. With Pianoteq I adjust rate back to 44000hz and also buffer size and close the app and then launch N4. Maybe mac reboot is also wise to do (hard to say precisely if it's actually necessary, cause I've done it anyway when it happened).

I can live with this, but problem arises if I forget to re-adjust audio parameters before launching N4. And that's not very nice to notice on stage - that happened last weekend! So best would be that if N4 would "remember" those settings itself.
Also with Mac Books built-in audio there's no place to adjust sample rate and buffer (in somewhere system settings etc.), right? So if you use 48000hz or higher with Pianoteq for example, does these settings remain when you close the app? Basically I am just curious to know how all this works....

thanks,
P

Last edited by PLaine; 06-19-2018 at 08:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2018, 02:58 AM
Arboria Auralist Arboria Auralist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brighton, UK.
Posts: 65
Default

One of Apple's many weird quirks is having the audio settings be a separate app "Audio MIDI Setup" within Applications/Utilities.

Running it to verify the config is one of my pre-gig prep & check habits.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2018, 12:40 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,372
Default

Yes, it is always best to set the sample rate for a device using that device's own software -- for built-in Audio, AudioMIDI Setup is the app to use.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ead

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.